Molecular Characterization of an Unidentified Cichlid, Commonlly Called, ‘Wesafu’, Using Rapd Markers

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:2013
Authors:I. Megbowon, Fashina-Bombata H. A.
Journal:IOSR Journal Of Environmental Science, Toxicology And Food Technology

Genetic variation and divergence within and between the taxa of interest are assessed by the
presence or absence of each product, which is dictated by changes in the DNA sequence at each locus. The
study was conducted to assess the genetic differences between population of ‘wesafu’ and other cichlids in Epe
legoon, Lagos, Nigeria and determine the level of divergence of ‘wesafu’ from other species of cichlids in Epe
lagoon for baseline documentation. The genomic DNA was isolated using the standard phenol - chloroform
method. Primer OPC-04 (5’ CCG CAT CTA C 3’), which are arbitrary primers, were used to type the isolates.
The results showed that of the 40 fish isolates typed, 29 isolates (17 of ‘Wesafu’ and 12 of other cichlids) were
positive for RAPD DNA bands after amplification. This gives a type ability of 72.5%. The difference observed
between ‘Wesafu’ and other cichlids in typeability with OPC-04 was not significant (P = 0.08). Fingerprint
analyses revealed 6 distinct RAPD types, 3 for ‘wesafu’ and 3 for other species of cichlids with molecular sizes
of 100 – 500 base pairs. RAPD profile B was elicited by 58.3% of the Tilapia (other cichlids) isolates, while
profile F was elicited by 53% of the ‘Wesafu’ isolates. These most occurring RAPD profiles were not significant
(P > 0.05) when compared with other RAPD profiles seen. RAPD-PCR proves to be reliable as a typing tool for
discriminating ‘Wesafu’ from other cichlids (tilapia) isolates in Epe Lagoon. ‘Wesafu’ and other (cichlids)
tilapia in the Epe Lagoon present fish population from 3 distinct clones.

African countries / Pays de l'Afrique: 
Wed, 2013-08-07 13:37 -- Anonymous (not verified)

Who's online

There are currently 0 users online.

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith